Athletics

A A

Voorhees College is currently a member of the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics(NAIA), affiliated with the Association of Independent Institutions (A.I.I.) of the NAIA.  

Here, at Voorhees College, we offer nine competitive sports:

  • Men and Women’s Basketball
  • Men’s Baseball
  • Women’s Softball
  • Men and Women’s Cross Country
  • Men and Women’s Track and Field
  • Cheerleading

As a first time freshman, students must meet two of three qualifications for eligibility:

  •  Students must graduate from an accredited high school with a minimum 2.0 grade point average
  •  Students must rank in the upper 50th percentile
  •  Students must meet the test score requirements
    • *ACT – 18
    • SAT – 860 (without the writing)

All freshmen and transfers must register with the NAIA Eligibility Center at www.playnaia.org. Transcripts must be forwarded to the NAIA directly from your high school or previous college.

The mission of the athletics department is to provide an opportunity for college athletes to enhance, refine, and demonstrate their athletic skills on the playing surfaces, as well as their scholarly skills in the classroom.  It is this underlying mission of all-around excellence that creates the foundation of the department, as well as Voorhees College.

For more information please, complete our prospect information form that can be submitted online and forwarded to the respective coach.

Samuel Dotson
Athletics Academic Enhancement Coordinator
(803) 780-1339
sdotson@voorhees.edu

Edward Glover
Head Coach of Women Basketball
(803) 780-1042
eglover@voorhees.edu

Jeffrey Hughes
Head Coach of Track & Field/Cross Country/ Instructor of Health and Wellness
(803) 780-1067
jhughes@voorhees.edu

Derrick Mitchell
Head Coach of Men’s Basketball/ Instructor of Sports Management
(803) 780-1047
dmitchell@voorhees.edu

Taven Jenkins
Assistant Coach of Men’s Basketball
(803) 780-1047
tjenkins@voorhees.edu

John Gauntlett
Head Baseball Coach/Career Planning Initiative (CPI) Coordinator of Experiential Learning
(803) 780-1076
jgauntlett@voorhees.edu

Merrill J Gadsden
Head Coach of the Cheerleading Squad
 mgadsden@voorhees.edu