Athletic News


Tiger Athletic News

The Voorhees College men and women’s basketball teams end the season with recognitions and honors.

Kimberly Gordon (34), who shot at a 55% from the field for the season, made the All Association of Independent Institutions (AII) First Team. Danielle McFadden (35) and Brionna Missouri (32) made the All-Tournament team.

Nijah Davis received the Newcomer of the Year award, averaging 9.4 points while shooting 46% from the three-point range. She, along with McFadden and Missouri, also made the All-A.I.I. Second Team, Courtney Brooks received honorable mention.

Edward Glover has been the women’s basketball coach for over fifteen years and is currently nine wins away from achieving 300 career victories. He is proud of how his ladies played this season and looks forward to trying to achieve the ultimate goal next year.

“We were able to have the best overall regular season record among the A.I.I. division one teams and was the top seed in the tournament. That experience should help the returning players take the next step to winning the conference tournament championship next season.”

The Lady Tigers received the tournament Runner-up award and ended the conference as regular season champions.

From the men’s basketball team, Desmond Louis (14), Jerrod Brown (5) and Denzel Bolden (23) made the All-A.I.I. First Team. Denzel Famble (35) made the All-A.I.I. Second Team.

Derrick Mitchell, the men’s basketball coach for two years, feels this season the boys played hard but like with any sport there is always room for improvement. He is glad of the strides they have made and owes his own victories as a coach to them.

“I want my team to dream big because without dreams nothing is possible. I couldn't be more proud of having a record of 21-8, which is a top 15 record nationally based on win percentage. They accomplished so many things this year that others thought couldn't be done.”

The Tigers ended the season with Famble being named Defensive Player of the Year, Bolden named Most Valuable Player and Mitchell named Coach of the Year in the conference.