Voorhees announces the 2019 Presidential Scholars


Voorhees announces the 2019 Presidential Scholars

April 05, 2019

Voorhees College will acknowledge ten presidential scholars at the 2019 Presidential Scholarship Gala on Friday, April 12 at The Gala by JW in Columbia, S.C. at 7 p.m.

The 2018-2019 scholars are Erianna Card, Asha McKinley, Ashley Johnson, Henriadam Brower, Roderick Byrd, Alysha Linder, Denzel Walls, Donald Lauer IV, Nasier Edwards, and D’Ariel Walker.

This year’s theme is “Begin. Believe. Become.” During the gala, these high-achieving scholars will be honored for their academic excellence and meet current Voorhees donors who provide the support to make receiving scholarships possible.

Presidential scholarships are awarded to students based on their academic performance along with financial need. The following students graduated high school with a grade point average of 3.5 or higher. The scholars continue to receive funds as they maintain admission and sustain a 2.75 cumulative grade point average the first year and a 3.0 grade point average each year thereafter.

McKinley, a freshman mass communication major, said the presidential scholarship has lifted a huge weight off her family’s shoulders. “So many students have to take out loans and refer other resources just to afford college. As a presidential scholar, I have a full ride. I will continue to excel in my academics so I can retain my scholarship throughout my college career,” McKinley said.

Walker, a senior child development major, and 2018-2019 Miss Voorhees College, said receiving the presidential scholarship all four years has been a blessing. “Because of the financial stability the scholarship, brought me, I was motivated to keep a high grade point average each year. I am here to get my education; therefore, I study hard to ensure finances do not get in the way,” Walker said.

President W. Franklin Evans said Voorhees scholars excel in scholarly research, campus and community engagement, and leadership. “I congratulate this year’s presidential scholars. I encourage them to continue accomplishing superior academic and professional achievements. It is the strong character and scholastic qualities of these young people that demonstrate success and service,” Evans said.

For more information, contact the Office of Communications, at 803-780-1191 or at communications@voorhees.edu.