Voorhees raises more than $100,000 during 2018 Presidential Scholarship Gala


Voorhees raises more than $100,000 during 2018 Presidential Scholarship Gala

April 20, 2018

Voorhees College held its Seventh Annual Presidential Scholarship Gala: “Creating a Different Legacy of Leaders,” on Saturday, April 14 at the Gala by JW in Columbia, S.C.

The event raised more than $100,000. During the event, eight presidential scholars and Voorhees donors. Proceeds from the institution’s premier fundraising event will continue to support student scholarships. This year’s theme embraced and celebrated the new-age student leaders in our global society.

During the event, the two recipients of the Voorhees College Keeper of the Flame awards were also presented. This year’s recipients were alumnus Sen. Ronnie Sabb and attorney Richard Harpootlian. The Keeper of the Flame award was inspired by Voorhees founder Elizabeth Evelyn Wright, who was motivated by a humanitarian vision and quest that developed a genuine concern, and love of knowledge and scholarship not only for herself but also for others. Throughout the institution’s history, a plethora of supporters, benefactors, and friends found it in their hearts to advance the legacy of Wright in numerous ways, and in essence, are “keepers of the flame.”

In particular, Sabb continues to exemplify what it means to be a dedicated and loyal alum of Voorhees College. For Homecoming 2017, he presented a check in the amount of $40,000. Harpootlian is another generous donor who gives to the institution. He pledged an additional $10,000 during the gala in support of the scholarship fund.

In addition, a philanthropy award was presented to Board of Trustee member Sen. John Scott for his dedication and commitment to Voorhees. Scott serves as the chairperson for the Institutional Advancement and Development committee on the board. Scott continues to identify and create fundraising opportunities in the name of Voorhees College.

Vice President for Institutional Advancement and Development Dr. Gwynth Nelson, said for her first Voorhees gala she could not be more proud of how successful the event was. “This was the biggest gala in terms of attendees and funds raised. None of this would have been possible without my Institutional Advancement and Development staff,” Nelson said. “I want to give a big thank you to all of our supporters, constituents, and Voorhees College family members as well.”

For more information, contact the Office of Communications, at 803-780-1191 or at communications@voorhees.edu.  

President Evans, Denzel Walls, D'Ariel Walker, Desiree Simon,
Terrianna McCullough, Rokia Cisse, Shauna Powell, and Dr. Gwynth Nelson
Richard Harpootlian, Sen. Ronnie Sabb, President Evans, and Sen. John Scott