Employee Recognition Program


Employee Recogition Program

Faculty of the Year

Selecting the Voorhees University Faculty of the Year is an essential part of the university’s ongoing commitment to
academic excellence. The Faculty of the Year demonstrates best practices in his/her discipline by a high degree of accomplishment in the classroom, as well as excellence in other faculty responsibilities including academic advising, service on university committees, and community service both on and off campus.

The process begins with the Dean of each School submitting the name of one candidate who, in the judgment of the Dean, has demonstrated the highest level of professional accomplishment for that academic year. The Dean will submit his/her selection to the Office of the Provost using two measures—the Award Criteria form and the Classroom Observation Summary. Once candidates are designated and evaluated at the School level, the Provost will submit a recommendation for the Faculty of the Year to the President for approval. 

As the Voorhees University 2022-2023 Faculty of the Year, Dr. Anastasyia Yakunina, Associate Professor of Mathematics will receive a certificate of merit, a reserved parking space for one year, and shall be entitled to serve as the University’s Chief Marshal at all of the University’s formal convocations, including Founder’s Day, the Baccalaureate/Hooding Ceremony, Commencement, and the Fall Opening Convocation. Additionally, she will receive the South Carolina Independent Colleges and Universities (SCICU) “Excellence in Teaching Award.” According to the SCICU website, “Each year, SCICU recognizes and celebrates the best of the best with its Excellence in Teaching Awards. A faculty member from each of SCICU’s twenty member institutions is nominated for the award according to rigorous guidelines. The award recipients are honored at a special dinner in April and are each awarded a certificate of merit and a $3,000 professional development grant.”

Staff of the Year

Each year, a committee, appointed by the President, facilitates the process of selecting the Staff of the Year Award recipient. Upon the committee’s  notification, the Vice President of each division submits the names of two (2) staff members, from his or her division, who exemplify the qualities and skills most desired for enabling student life and achievement on campus. Subsequently, the committee determines the Staff of the Year based on scoring of the holistic criteria the committee members are provided to utilize.

The University’s 2022-2023 Staff of the Year Award was presented to Mr. Marion Wright, Director of Student Engagement and Leadership during the annual Founder’s Day Convocation in April. He will receive a reserved parking space and parking decal for one year and participate in the annual Homecoming Parade.