Housing & Residential Life

A A

At Voorhees College, we think of our residence halls as more than places to live. These buildings are rich with history and they also are a key part of your college experience and of the college community. In each hall, you'll find a Residential Coordinator on duty to help you 24 hours daily. Each hall is designed as a small community, with about 40 students per floor. Each hall is designed to host cultural, educational and social programs throughout the year, all designed in mind to help you get more out of your Voorhees experience.

Voorhees has six residence halls:

  • Blantons Hall - was built in 1970 and was named in honor of Principal Joshua E. Blanton and his wife Linnie L. Blanton, who worked faithfully together from 1922 until 1947.  Blantons was constructed as a dormitory for women. Blantons Hall is the freshmen female residence Hall. Each room has two beds, two desk, two chairs, two closets, two upper storage compartments. There is also a computer lab, a commons area, a shared laundry room, and a community bathroom/shower area per floor.

  • Halmi Hall - was built in 1972 and was named for Sarah Louise Halmi.  She was a very active humanitarian and a staunch friend and supporter of Voorhees for many years. This building was constructed as a dormitory for women and a new dining hall facility for the campus.  Halmi Hall is now the freshman male residence Hall. Each room has two beds, two desk, two chairs, two closets, two upper storage compartments. There is also a computer lab, a commons area, a shared laundry room, and a community bathroom/shower area per floor.

  • Battle Hall - built in 1970 and was named for Dr. William A. Battle.  The three story building was constructed as a dormitory for women.  Dr. Battle was the founder of Okolona Industrial School in Mississippi. Battle Hall is still today the Upperclass female residence hall. Each room has two beds, two desk, two chairs, two closets, two upper storage compartments. There is also a computer lab, a commons area, a shared laundry room, and a community bathroom/shower area per floor.

  • Guerry-Finley Hall - was built in 1972 and was named for two Episcopal churchmen, the Rt. Rev. William A. Guerry and the Rt. Rev. Kirkman G. Finlay.  They were very instrumental in helping to bring Voorhees under the auspices of the Episcopal Church in 1924. Guerry Finlay is the  Upperclass male residence hall.  Each room has two beds, two desk, two chairs, two closets, two upper storage compartments. There is also a computer lab, a commons area, a shared laundry room, and a community bathroom/shower area per floor.

  • Menafee Hall - is the second oldest building on the campus.  It was constructed in 1907 to be the trade building.  Over the years, it has served as both a men and women’s dormitory.  It was named after Martin A. Menafee who was the treasurer of Voorhees and the husband of Elizabeth Evelyn Wright the Founder. Menafee Hall continues today to be a co-ed residence hall. Each room has single or double accomadation, shared bathroom, and a shared living space. There is also a shared laundry room.

  • The Living and Learning Center - was dedicated in June 2016.  Dr. Cleveland L. Sellers, Jr. the President of Voorhees led the efforts in securing the financing of this building.  The building is designed to house students who excel highly in their academics. The Living and Learning Center is the residence hall for co-ed housing. Each room has four single rooms, two shared bathrooms, and a shared living space. There is also a shared laundry room and commons area.

Other Amenities

  • A bowling alley, pool tables, and a community lobby is included in this building.


We encourage you to contact our Office of Housing and Residential Life or the Residential Coordinator at any time with any concerns or questions you might have. 

Contact Information for the Office of Housing & Residential Life

Allison Clark

Director of Residential Life and Housing 

Phone: (803) 780-1261

Fax: (803) 780-4644

aclark@voorhees.edu

Contact Information for Residence Halls Office
Battle Hall - Upperclassmen Female
(803) 780-1101

Blantons Hall - Freshmen Female
(803) 780-1103

Guerry-Finley Hall - Upperclassmen Male
(803) 780- 1105

Halmi Hall - Freshmen Male
(803) 780-1107

Living and Learning Center - Co-ed Male/Female
(803) 780-1104

Menafee Hall - Co-ed Male/Female
(803) 780-1102
 

Residence Coordinators 
Michael Gary
Senior Residence Coordinator 
mgary@voorhees.edu

Kelly McCray
kamccray@voorhees.edu

Kenneth Kinard
kkinard@voorhees.edu

LaTonya Greene
lgreene@voorhees.edu

Mildred Smith
mismith@voorhees.edu

Natalie Saxton
nsaxton@voorhees.edu

Nichelle Jamison
njamison@voorhees.edu

Nicole Rivers
nrivers@voorhees.edu

Pamela Singleton
psingleton@voorhees.edu

Roland Kinard
rkinard@voorhees.edu

Shaunetta Ray
sray@voorhees.edu

Shantel Moncrieft
smoncrieft@voorhees.edu

Tony Barker
tbarker@voorhees.edu

Valerie Stanford
vstanford@voorhees.edu